01-02 PAźDZIERNIKA / 2019

Mkwawa University College of Education (MUCE), Institute of Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology of the University of Warsaw Institutes of Political Science of the University of Warmia and Mazury Institute of History of Art of the University of Łódź


Kierownik: Prof. nadzw. dr hab. Aneta Pawłowska (UŁ)


Zofia Gralak (UŁ)


Mkwawa University College of Education (MUCE), is a Constituent College of the University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) which is located in Iringa Municipality (Southern Highlands of Tanzania). The college in collaboration with the Institute of Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology of the University of Warsaw ( Poland) and Institutes of Political Science, University of Warmia and Mazury ( Poland) and Institute of History of Art of the University of Łódź have a pleasure to invite you to participate in the 2nd Mkwawa International Conference with the main theme on: “MIGRATION IN THE CONTEMPORARY WORLD”. The conference will be held on 1st - 2nd October, 2019. The conference organizing committee invites academician, researchers, professionals and any other interested stakeholders to submit papers on the following sub-themes:

  1. Migration and Economy
  2. Migration and Society
  3. Migration and Culture
  4. Migration and Environment.


  • Abstracts should reach the Conference Organizing Committee via an e-mail attachment: fohss-conference@muce.ac.tz and a copy to jgilarowski@gmail.com and myeyahelena@yahoo.com by 31st May, 2019.
  • Full papers typed in MS-Word format (Times New Roman, font size12) with a title, name of author(s) and affiliations, should reach the Conference Organising Committee by 31st July, 2019 (e-mails as above).
  • The Conference Organizing Committee will review the papers submitted and notification for acceptance or rejection will be sent to the authors within one month after the deadline above.
  • The duration for oral presentation of the selected papers will be 20 minute
  • The best papers will blindly peer-reviewed for publication in an edited book after the conference.
  • Registration for the presenters and other participants will take place at the University Campus on Monday 1st October, 2019 from 9.00 to 10.00 am.
  • Registration Fee Categories.
  • · Research Scholars with papers: US$75;
  • · Research Scholars without papers: US$25;
  • · Students with papers: US$25; and,
  • · Students without papers: US$15

Payment may be made in equivalent amount in Tanzanian shillings. The participants will have to pay the registration fee through CRDB Bank MUCE Humanity Project Account number: 0150071134816 and keep pay-in-slip that will be used to obtain a receipt during registration8.

  • Accommodation: there are different accommodation options in Iringa Municipality. Mkwawa University College of Education will assist participants on hotel reservation matters in Iringa town only. Participants who will come from outside Tanzania are advised to book hotels, in advance, in case they will decide to spend some days in Dar es Salaam or any other city within Tanzania.
  • Travel: Iringa Municipality is located 505 km. from Dar es Salaam and 250 km. from Dodoma the Capital city of Tanzania. There are buses that operate between Dar es Salaam and Iringa on daily basis at approximately US$ 20 return fare. You can catch these buses at the up-country Ubungo Bus Terminal (UBT). There are also flight services available between Dar es Salaam and Iringa. Iringa is also accessible by buses from all major cities in the Country. The participants are advised to inform the Organising Committee, in advance, on their arrival and departure dates for making necessary assistance especially on matters related to transport.
  • Post-conference visit/tour: There will be an excursion to various tourist attractions available within Iringa region. The areas selected for tour include but not limited to: Ruaha National Park which is the second largest park in Africa, Isimila Old Stone Age historical site, Chief Mkwawa Museum of Kalenga, and Iringa Boma.
Kontakt: zofia.gralak543@gmail.com (UŁ)